Eight students receive NSF graduate fellowships

NSF grad fellows

2017 NSF Graduate Research Fellowship awardees: Brian Woodward, Megan Miller, Casey Lee, Marissa Metz, Katy McIntyre and Cory Rasor. 

Eight Colorado State University students have received National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships this year.

The NSF-GRFP provides a three-year annual stipend of $34,000, along with a $12,000 cost-of-education allowance for tuition and fees (paid to the institution). It includes opportunities for international research and professional development, and the freedom to conduct research at any accredited U.S. institution of graduate education they choose.

“This unique program has nurtured economic innovation and leadership in the U.S. continuously since 1952 – by recruiting and supporting outstanding students with high potential in science, technology, engineering and mathematics very early in their graduate training,” said Jim Lewis, NSF acting assistant director for Education and Human Resources. “These talented individuals have gone on to make important discoveries, win Nobel Prizes, train many generations of American scientists and engineers and create inventions that improve our lives.”

Awardees – chosen from over 13,000 applicants – represent a wide range of scientific disciplines and come from all states, as well as the District of Columbia, and U.S. commonwealths and territories. The group of 2,000 awardees is diverse, including 1,158 women, 498 individuals from underrepresented minority groups, 75 persons with disabilities, 26 veterans and 726 undergraduate seniors. The awardees come from 449 baccalaureate institutions.

GRFP supports the graduate study of U.S. citizens, nationals and permanent residents attaining research-based master’s and doctoral degrees in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) or in STEM education at institutions located in the United States.

Applications for fall 2017 are due in October and November. Contact Mary Swanson at mary.swanson@colostate.edu for more information.

CSU’s 2017 winners:


Dillon Jarrell, chemical and biological engineering

Megan Hofmann, computer science


Casey Lee, ecology

Katy McIntyre, cell and molecular biology

Marissa Metz, biomedical sciences

Megan Miller, microbiology

Cory Rasor, physics

Brian Woodward, forest sciences