Provost calls for award nominations

Administration Building in spring

The Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President has opened a call for nominations for several prestigious awards.

“I would like to encourage the campus community to seriously consider nominating outstanding individuals for each of the awards,” said Provost Rick Miranda. “CSU has many committed and talented faculty and administrative professionals. We ask for your help in identifying them for these outstanding awards.”

There is now one announcement and one deadline for these academic faculty and administrative professional awards for the 2015-2016 academic year. The deadline for all nominations/proposals is Monday, Feb. 1, 2016.

This call for nominations includes:

University Distinguished Professor — The title of University Distinguished Professor is conferred upon the most outstanding faculty members of Colorado State University for the duration of their association with the institution, for their continuing and cumulative accomplishment in their areas of specialization, artistry, or expertise.

University Distinguished Teaching Scholar — Open to faculty members with records of performance ranking them among the most outstanding teachers and educators in their disciplines, as reflected by their accomplishments as both scholar and teacher, lending talents and expertise to teaching-related projects and scholarship at Colorado State. Distinguished Teaching Scholars have received national and international acclaim in recognition of outstanding achievement.

Oliver P. Pennock Distinguished Service Award — These awards recognize meritorious and outstanding achievement over a five-year period by full-time members of the academic faculty and administrative professional staff. The award program was established as a tribute to Pennock, who served as a distinguished professor of Civil Engineering in the 1920’s.

Board of Governors Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award — This award is presented annually to a faculty member who stimulates the curiosity of students by motivating and challenging them. It is sponsored by the Board of Governors of the Colorado State University System.

Jack E. Cermak Advising Award— Recognizes excellence in academic advising. Jack E. Cermak, professor in Civil Engineering, endowed this award because of his strong belief in the value of academic advising.

Monfort Professors — The Monfort Family Foundation established the Monfort Professors Program to help CSU recruit and retain talented faculty members. Each year, two faculty members are selected as Monfort Professors by a committee appointed by the Provost. They retain this designation for two years, and receive $75,000 per year to further their teaching and research.

Provost’s N. Preston Davis Award for Instructional Innovation — This award recognition was instituted in 1992 upon the retirement of N. Preston Davis. Pres served the Colorado State University community creatively and loyally for over four decades, focused on instructional innovation.

Nomination information and criteria, past and current recipients, nomination/application forms, and contact information for all of these awards here.