MURALS winners show creativity and leadership

MURALS winners (from left) Colleen McCollum, Connor Whitaker and Joei Robertson.

The Multicultural Undergraduate Research Art and Leadership Symposium (MURALS) intentionally reaches out to students of color in various disciplines and exposing them to a variety of undergraduate research opportunities. Mentoring, presenting research, networking, and learning about multicultural leadership are four main aspects of the program.

Held on March 7, MURALS was an event that allowed students to network and present creative writing, visual art, performing art, science, social science, humanities while graduate students evaluated their submissions and faculty served as mentors.


Colleen McCollum, Senior / Major – Biochemistry, Minor – Mathematics and Biomedical Engineering

Excellence in Science Presentation – “Analysis of the Effects of Knocking out HDAC11 on the Hypothalamic Response to Stress in Mice and Differences in Blood Vasculature Density”

Connor Whitaker, Senior / Major – Biomedical Sciences

Excellence in Science Poster Design –  “Comparing the Effect of Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA) Supplementation of Western and Low-Fat Diets on Cardiomyocyte Cross-Sectional Area (CSA)”

Joei Robertson, Junior / Major – Animal Sciences

Excellence in Science Research – “Initial Development of a Multiplex Immunocytochemistry Protocol for Differentiation of Epithelium, Mesenchymal tissue and Leukocytes in Canine Cytology Samples”

Grace Stamps, Senior / Major in Art and Journalism and Medical Communication. Concentration in Painting

Excellence in Creative Arts –  “Grey”

Diane Thajeb, Junior / Major in Business Administration and Music with a concentration in Information Systems

Excellence in Performing Arts  –  “Fantaisie – Impromptu in C-Sharp Minor and Thief of Dreams”

Morgan Bierbaum, Senior / Major in Art with a concentration in Art and Art History.  Minor Spanish

Excellence in Social Science and Humanities Research – “The Sacred Underground”

MURALS winners (from left) Grace Stamps, Diane Thajeb, and Morgan Bierbaum.

Sponsors of MURALS

  • College of Agricultural Sciences
  • College of Business
  • College of Health and Human Sciences
  • College of Liberal Arts
  • College of Natural Sciences
  • College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
  • Warner College of Natural Resources
  • Colorado State University Bookstore
  • Division of Student Affairs
  • Morgan Library
  • Office of the Vice President of Diversity
  • Office of the Vice President for Research