MSFN fall reception to be held on Dec. 4

MSFN logo

The Multicultural Staff and Faculty Network is welcoming all members to its annual fall reception on Dec. 4 from 4:30 to 6:30 p.m., in the Iris and Michael Smith Alumni Center to celebrate and recognize Colorado State University’s diverse community.

The committee is also welcoming a new chair and chair-elect to the team. Shane Kanatous, an associate professor in the Department of Biology, had been elected chair-elect and now serves as current chair.

New chair

“Shane Kanatous is a passionate advocate for diversity and inclusion,” says Sonjia Graham, an MSFN board member. “His efforts are geared toward the inclusion of underrepresented students in the field of science.”

Kanatous also serves as a faculty advisor to the Society for Advancement of Chicanos/Hispanics and Native Americans in Science, which is an inclusive organization dedicated to helping students succeed in positions of leadership in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

The incoming MSFN chair-elect for the new year is Patricia Vigil, director of University Partnership and Student Success in the Access Center.

What is MSFN about?

MSFN was created to serve faculty and staff who self-identify as a person of color or with a community of color, to be involved in upcoming events and issues the network is addressing. The network’s vision is to help multicultural staff and faculty voices feel visible and engaged in a community that supports, empowers and sustains them. The group’s mission is to influence campus culture and conversation by building community, aiding critical dialogue around issues of diversity, providing professional development opportunities, and hosting social and networking opportunities for staff and faculty.

The MSFN Fall Reception is an opportunity for multicultural staff and faculty to build relationships, come together and enjoy one another’s company.

Nominations for the MSFN Distinguish Service Awards are now open for administrative professionals, faculty and state classified staff. The nomination deadline for the 2018 MSFN Awards is Feb. 12, 2018 by 5 pm MST. Please see MSFN website for more information about submitting nominations.

In addition to Kanatous and Vigil, the MSFN board members include Past Chair Jimena Sagas, college liaison librarian/assistant professor at Morgan Library; Carlos Olivo-Delgado, a academic success coordinator and instructor in the Department of Chemistry; Teresa McClure, student service coordinator in the Graduate School; Michelle Foster, an associate professor in the Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition; Greg Florant, a professor in the Department of Biology; Lumina Albert, an associate professor in the College of Business; Arlene Nededog, director of inclusion for the College of Natural Sciences; Kim Austin Mbadinga-Nzamba, assistant director for diversity and inclusion for CSU Athletics; Sonjia Graham, Front Range program assistant for CSU Extension; and ex-officio member Mary Ontiveros, vice president for diversity.