Look Who’s Outstanding!

Pharmacy Staff

CSU Employee Award Board was pleased to recognized the CSU Health Network Pharmacy on May 18.

The CSU Health Network Pharmacy staff, which includes Andy Kline, Keith Hardes, Joyce Miller, Alan Feierstein and Karen Sprouse, was nominated by Lynne Bunn of Hartshorn Health Center.

“The pharmacy staff provides excellent customer service along with on-campus prescription service and advice to students throughout the year,” Bunn wrote. “The pharmacy staff is constantly busy with students who are ill and are having to navigate their own health care for the first time. They are consistently friendly, caring and take the extra time to talk a student through questions or concerns about a medication.

“In addition to filling prescriptions for students, they provide over-the-counter products to students. This team is always busy working to get the student in and out of the health center quickly so they can get back to class, which sometimes can be very challenging.”

The pharmacy works with many students’ insurance, but works very closely with the CSU student health plan, not only in helping us know when there are issues with the prescription¬†vendor, but also in supporting the flex dollar program associated with the student health plan. This program allows the students to use up to $100 in the health center for non-covered services such as vision, dental, massage and over-the-counter medications.

“There are many students who come to the pharmacy at the end of the term not having used their flex dollars elsewhere, and wanting to purchase over-the-counter products,” Bunn continued in her nomination. “This often happens when we are close to the end of the semester and the pharmacy is already busy with refills for students who are leaving. The pharmacy staff should be commended for their patience in helping students find products.”

Recognition for hard work, community spirit

The CSU Employee Appreciation Board, originally formed in 1968, recognizes employees for their hard work and promotes community spirit among CSU faculty and staff through events such as breakfasts or luncheons. Each month, the Board hosts a prize drawing for all faculty and staff who submit an entry form, including a coveted reserved parking space for a full month.

The board meets monthly during the academic year to discuss and plan employee recognition events, as well as to help promote university events. One of the main objectives of the board is the monthly recognition of a group, entity or college.

Have a department or office you want to nominate? Use this form.