2014 Diversity Symposium

The Office of the Vice President for Diversity is pleased to announce 14th Annual Diversity Symposium to be held Sept 16-18 in Lory Student Center.

This year presenters will focus sessions on trending topics of diversity in higher education and topics directly relating to diversity initiatives at Colorado State.

Tuesday, September 16

General Sessions

Lory Student Center
9:00 AM – 3:00 PM

Featured Session: CSU Inspire featuring Eric Aoki, Lumina Albert, Brian Jones, and Guadalupe Salazar.

North Ballroom, Lory Student Center
11:30 a.m. – 1 p.m.

CSU will host its first ever CSU Inspire as a new component of the Diversity Symposium, to highlight campus diversity initiatives in the areas of teaching, research, and service. The goal of CSU Inspire is to allow our community to share the many innovative, engaging, and inspiring initiatives that are happening on our campus in relation to diversity, in a short inspiring 8-minute presentation. Light appetizers will be provided.

Wednesday, September 17

Keynote Speaker: Freeman Hrabowksi, III

Lory Student Center Theatre
6:30 pm

Freeman A. Hrabowski, III, has served as President of UMBC (The University of Maryland, Baltimore County) since 1992. His research and publications focus on science and math education, with special emphasis on minority participation and performance. He chaired the National Academies’ committee that produced the recent report, Expanding Underrepresented Minority Participation: America’s Science and Technology Talent at the Crossroads. He also was recently named by President Obama to chair the newly created President’s Advisory Commission on Educational Excellence for African Americans. In 2008, he was named one of America’s Best Leaders by U.S. News & World Report, which ranked UMBC the nation’s #1 “Up and Coming” university the past five years (2009-13). TIME magazine named him one of America’s 10 Best College Presidents in 2009, and one of the “100 Most Influential People in the World” in 2012. In 2011, he received both the TIAA-CREF Theodore M. Hesburgh Award for Leadership Excellence and the Carnegie Corporation of New York’s Academic Leadership Award, recognized by many as the nation’s highest awards among higher education leaders. Also in 2011, he was named one of seven Top American Leaders by The Washington Post and the Harvard Kennedy School’s Center for Public Leadership. In 2012, he received the Heinz Award for his contributions to improving the “Human Condition” and was among the inaugural inductees into the U.S. News & World Report STEM Solutions Leadership Hall of Fame.

This event is free and open to the public. Tickets are not required.

Thursday, September 18

General Sessions

Lory Student Center
9:00 AM – 3:00 PM

Special Presentation: Dr. Sonia Nieto “Becoming Culturally Responsive Educators: What Does it Take?

Lory Student Center Theatre
4:30PM – 6:00 PM

Sponsored by The Task Force on Increasing the Diversity and Cultural Responsiveness of Educators in Poudre School District (IDCRE)

Special Post-Symposium Event

LOOKING FOR JUSTICE: Unaccompanied Children in the U. S.

When a “Migration Problem” becomes a Humanitarian Crisis Saturday, Sept. 20 at 3 p.m.

Meeting Room 1300
Riverside Drive
Fort Collins, CO

Download the Schedule

Please address questions about the Diversity Symposium to:

Linda Krier
Executive Assistant to the Vice President for Diversity
645 S. Shields
Fort Collins, CO

Ria Vigil
Director of Diversity Education and Training
645 S. Shields
Fort Collins, CO