A conversation with three of CSU’s top women faculty

Three of CSU’s top women faculty will participate in a panel discussion hosted by the Colorado Women’s Hall of Fame on Monday, April 3.

“Inspiring Conversations with Great Women” will be held at the Poudre Public Library, 201 Peterson St. in Fort Collins, from 6 to 7:30 p.m. It is being held to honor and discuss the achievements of three inspiring women: Diana Wall, founding director of the School of Global Environmental Sustainability; Temple Grandin, professor of Animal Science and 2017 National Women’s Hall of Fame Inductee; and Beth Walker, dean of CSU’s College of Business.

Grandin was inducted into the CWHF in 2012, and Wall was inducted in 2014.

The three will be speaking and answering questions on topics like their influences, role models and experiences working in male-dominated fields. In addition, there will be an opportunity for them to field audience questions.

Chandy Ghosh, a member of the Colorado Women’s Hall of Fame board, will moderate the panel discussion about the speakers, the Hall and how to nominate a remarkable woman.

“The Hall believes that empowering women to be all they can be begins with positive engagement with prominent female role models,” said Ghosh. “Their stories are dynamic and demonstrate how these women helped shape our state, our nation and much more.”

The public is invited to attend the event. Light refreshments and a networking session will follow the panel discussion.

Tickets are available at www.cogreatwomen.org/events/purchase-tickets/. There is no charge, but there is a suggested donation of $10.

For more information, call 303-271-3599.

About the panelists

  • Temple Grandin: As a professor of animal sciences for more than two decades, Grandin has made immense contributions to the livestock industry that continue to shape, innovate and advance approaches to livestock handling. She is also known internationally as an autism author and spokesperson. Grandin was recently named to the National Women’s Hall of Fame, one of only 10 women to receive the honor this year.
  • Beth Walker: Walker, previously the chair of the marketing department at Arizona State University W. P. Carey School of Business and accomplished scholar and leader, was named the dean of Colorado State University’s College of Business in 2015. She is the first female dean of the college.
  • Diana Wall: a CSU Distinguished Professor and director of the School of Global Environmental Sustainability, Wall is responsible for helping faculty and students contribute to progress towards a sustainable future. As a soil ecologist and environmental scientist, she is engaged in research on the consequences of human activities on soil globally. Wall, a member of the American Academic of Arts and Sciences, currently serves as Science Chair for the Global Soil Biodiversity Initiative and has received many international awards for her work, including the Tyler Prize for Environmental Achievement in 2013 and the Eminent Ecologist Award from the Ecological Society of America this year.