Colorado Open Scholars Summit to examine ‘Open Access in Tenure and Promotion’ March 1

The second biennial Colorado Open Scholars Summit, a statewide event co-sponsored by nine Colorado universities, will be held on March 1 in the Morgan Library Event Hall at CSU.

The focus of this year’s event, being held from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m., is “Open Access in Tenure and Promotion.” The summit will consist of two virtual panels featuring renowned scholars from the U.S. and Canada, followed by local discussions at the nine participating Colorado institutions, including CSU.Colorado Open Scholars logo

The first panel features CSU’s own Patrick Burns, dean of libraries and vice president of information technology, and will be a general discussion of challenges within the tenure and promotion process. This panel will focus on evaluation of scholarly and creative output, with particular attention paid to disincentives built into the T&P process and challenges in evaluating multidisciplinary and non-traditional scholarship.

The second panel will explore the topics of equity, prestige and quality of scholarship, with particular focus on the effect of open access on these areas of T&P evaluation.

Attendees at CSU are encouraged to attend the gathering in the Morgan Library Event Hall to participate in the local discussion of the implications of ideas presented in the panels. Colorado Open Scholars hopes that this will spark more conversations on Colorado campuses, as well as provide a forum for faculty from different colleges and departments to share ideas.

Colorado Open Scholars is a group of libraries from nine institutions of higher education across Colorado that aims to foster dialogue among Colorado universities by addressing the challenges and opportunities that open access, open educational resources and open data present in higher education.

Coffee service and a light lunch will be provided. This event is free to attend, and registration is available here.

For more information, visit the website at or contact Christine Pawliuk,, or Mara Sedlins,