Colorado Knowledge Bowl high schoolers on campus March 12-13

The Colorado Knowledge Bowl Association its holding its division championships in the Lory Student Center March 12-13.

The academic competition for Colorado high school students is a Jeopardy-like game in which participants are asked a total of 570 questions over two days on topics ranging from art to space travel. Ken Blehm, a former associate dean in the College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences and a board member of the association, is overseeing the competition.Highschoolers who won Knowledge Bowl

“The goal of Knowledge Bowl is to encourage curiosity and life-long learning, hopefully developing people who solve problems,” Blehm said. “Given the mission of a land-grant school like Colorado State, namely generating and disseminating knowledge to aid the people of our state in solving problems, a partnership with Knowledge Bowl was only natural.”

Championship teams in each school size classification, from 1A to 5A, will compete for top honors from the best 60 Knowledge Bowl teams across the state.  Statewide, the sport is played by 160 schools that compete on a regular basis in a season that runs from September to March each year.

The challenge

All 450 of the questions are delivered orally, and participants have only 15 seconds to deliver a response after the question is given.  A talented team can earn up to 225 or more points to become the overall Colorado Champion.

CSU plans to recognize the winning team by partnering with the Colorado Knowledge Bowl Association to create the Colorado Knowledge Bowl Scholar Award. Each classification champion may select one member of their team or school who has been admitted to Colorado State as a new student for the Fall 2018 term to receive a $1,000 scholarship.

“We hope these talented high school competitors enjoy their time on our campus, highlighted by tours and time at the Student Recreation Center, and will join the Ram family when they pursue higher education,” Blehm said.

The initial scholarships will be given at the 2018 championship on March 12 and 13 in the LSC Theater.