CPC elects new slate of members

CPC logoThe votes have been counted, and a new slate of Classified Personnel Council members will begin serving on July 1.

The election resulted in the selection of four new representatives and five alternates. It was the first CPC election since 2007 and resulted from growing interest and familiarity with the council.

Current CPC Chair Jeff Sturgeon of the Office of the Vice President for Engagement said ballots were mailed to all state classified employees at CSU. About 17 percent of the 1,872 ballots were completed and returned during the election, which was held between March 2 and April 13.

All nine candidates who ran gained a seat; the top four vote-getters will serve as council representatives and the rest were assigned as alternates. The four newly selected CPC representatives are Brian Gilbert of Academic Computing and Networking Services, Kristin Stephens of the Department of Statistics, Sandra Dailey of the Graduate School and Edwin Schwab of Facilities Management.

The alternates, who are automatically appointed to a representative position if a vacancy should occur, are Anthony Langlois of the Veterinary Teaching Hospital, Megan Skeehan of Residential Dining Services, Cathy Anderson Mathern of Facilities Management, Leah Bosch of the College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences and Thao Biel of Business and Financial Services.

The CPC mission is to represent state classified employees at CSU by promoting, improving and protecting their role within the university system. As part of the CSU shared governance model, the CPC helps to ensure state classified views, ideas, and concerns are respected in University planning and decision-making. For a listing of current representatives, please visit the CPC website.