Assistive Technology Resource Center honored by Employee Appreciation Board

Assistive Technology Resources staff
From left to right, top to bottom: Matt Malcolm, Craig Spooner, Lanie Backstrum, Shannon Lavey, Marla Roll, Kristina Nguyen, Chelsea Hansen, Claire Simpson, Emily Glick, Allison Swanson, Anna Walker

The Colorado State University Employee Appreciation Board honored the Assistive Technology Resource Center for its exemplary service on Oct. 7. The group was surprised after their regular staff meeting with Nothing Bundt Cakes, sparkling cider and other snacks as well as some CSU swag

The group was nominated by their director, Marla Roll, who wrote:

“There are three full time staff in our center that deserve some recognition. Specifically, they are: Allison Kidd, Shannon Lavey, and Anna Walker. I am indebted to these three people. They have worked tirelessly to serve students and employees with disabilities – meeting their assistive technology and electronic accessibility needs. They partner across campus, manage very large caseloads, are dependable and always willing to assist in all ways that further the work of the center.”

The Assistive Technology Resource Center ensures equal access to technology and electronic information for CSU students and employees with disabilities. The ATRC also provides consultation and education regarding accessibility of mainstream and instructional technologies.

About the EAB

The CSU Employee Appreciation Board, originally formed in 1968, recognizes employees for their hard work and promotes community spirit among CSU faculty and staff through events such as breakfasts and luncheons. Each month, the board hosts a prize drawing for all faculty and staff who submit an entry form, including a coveted reserved parking space for a full month.

The board meets monthly during the academic year to discuss and plan employee recognition events, as well as to help promote university events. One of the main objectives of the board is the monthly recognition of a group, entity or college.

To nominate a department or office, visit the EAB website.