2015 Lilla B. Morgan grants support arts, culture at CSU

lillaSeven Colorado State University programs received spring 2015 grants from the University’s Lilla B. Morgan Memorial Endowment, the premier fund to support arts and culture at CSU.

The Spring 2015 grant recipients are:

  • $4,000: Colorado State University Human Rights Film Festival, Dr. Scott Diffrient, CSU Department of Communication Studies
  • $3,600: Contemporary Ceramics, Professor Sanam Emami, CSU Department of Art and Art History
  • $2,600: registration costs for members of the Metalsmithing Guild of CSU to attend statewide conference and conduct a follow-up workshop on campus, Kinszia Erickson, CSU Department of Art and Art History
  • $2,500: Solitude and Exuberance: A Tribute to Gabriel García-Márquez, Dr. Jonathan Carlyon, CSU Department of Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
  • $1,000: Trying-on Teaching/Middle School Outreach Ensembles, Dr. Erik Johnson, CSU Department of Music, Theatre, and Dance
  • $1,000: Cinco de Mayo Celebration, Dr. Guadalupe Salazar, El Centro
  • $800: OboeRAMa 2015, Dr. Gary Moody, CSU Department of Music, Theatre, and Dance

Advancing the arts at CSU

The Lilla B. Morgan Memorial Endowment for the Arts was created by the family and friends of CSU’s late President Emeritus William Morgan and his wife, Lilla, to help foster a vibrant, rich, and evolving environment for the arts and cultural expression at Colorado State University. The Lilla B. Morgan Memorial Endowment provides grants to support projects in art, music, humanities, literature, and the performing arts, including but not limited to:

  • visiting/guest lecturers and artists;
  • purchase of art, rare books, or landscaping;
  • exhibits and performances;
  • scholarships and awards; or
  • any use that would showcase the breadth of human cultural endeavor and enhance the cultural awareness of the CSU community.

“As funding in the arts becomes more restricted, assistance from the Lilla B. Morgan Endowment becomes even more critical,” said past grant recipient and Director of the University Center for the Arts Art Museum Linny Frickman. “Quite simply, the Morgan fund’s long-time dedication to the arts on this campus has been one of the most important catalysts for the vitality of the arts at CSU.”

Gifts to the fund will allow it to support a greater number of programs across the CSU campus. To make a contribution to the Lilla B. Morgan Endowment to support the arts at CSU, visit the website.

Award twice per year

Grant funds are awarded during two awards cycles each year, with the application deadlines of April 1 and Sept. 30. All university departments are welcome and encouraged to apply for grant funding. Applications are evaluated on the significance of the project and its impact on the campus community. Projects/programs of a major impact, smaller projects, and multi-year projects may all be considered for funding. All proposals will also be reviewed for demonstrated responsibility and thoughtfulness in project planning, budget development, and potential for successful implementation. (Projects must take place no fewer than 30 days from the application deadline to be considered for funding.)

Members of the Lilla B. Morgan Endowment Grants Committee include Kristi Bohlender, College of Liberal Arts Development Office; Jean Jenes, Office of the President; Katie Kalkstein, Office of the President; Cara Neth, Office of the President; Leif Sorensen, English Department; and Lance Wright, Campus Activities.