2015-16 Sustainability Leadership Fellows

SOGES-GlobeThe School of Global Environmental Sustainability has announced the selection of 20 early career academics as Sustainability Leadership Fellows for the 2015-16 academic year. The School’s prestigious program prepares future innovators and thought leaders with state-of-the-art science communication and career development training.

“We’re excited to announce our new Fellows representing areas that are key to building collective understanding and new solutions for the many issues in sustainability,” said Diana Wall, director of SoGES. “The number of applicants made this the most competitive year yet.”

SoGES recognizes that CSU’s academic researchers are a primary informational resource for the complex decisions that will determine our environmental future. Early career academics often overlook communication and leadership skills as they build their professional careers.

Over the course of one year, Fellows receive training to be the leaders for the future: to effectively communicate science to the media and public; professional development skills and techniques; and strategies to build successful careers that incorporate meaningful science communication, engagement, and interdisciplinary collaboration.

For more information about SoGES at Colorado State University, visit sustainability.colostate.edu.

2015-2016 Sustainability Leadership Fellows

College of Agricultural Sciences

Ana Bossa Castro, Ph.D. Student with advisor Jan Leach, Department of Bioagricultural Sciences and Pest Management

College of Engineering

Renee Curry, Ph.D. Student with advisor Scott Denning, Graduate Degree Program in Ecology

Ashley Evanoski-Cole, Ph.D. Candidate with advisor Jeffrey L. Collett, Jr., Department of Atmospheric Science

John Field, Postdoctoral Fellow with co-mentors Bryan Willson and Keith Paustian, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Aaron Piña, Ph.D. Student with advisor Scott Denning, Department of Atmospheric Science

College of Health and Human Sciences

Amy Sheflin, Ph.D. Candidate with advisor Tiffany Weir, Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition

College of Liberal Arts

Mike Angstadt, Ph.D. Student with advisor Michele Betsill, Department of Political Science

College of Natural Sciences

Charlotte Alster, Ph.D. Candidate with advisor Joseph von Fischer, Department of Biology

Brittany Bloodhart, Postdoctoral Fellow with mentor Silvia Sara Canetto, Department of Psychology

Ellen Daugherty, Ph.D. Candidate with advisor Thomas Borch, Department of Chemistry

Tandra Fraser, Postdoctoral Fellow with mentor Diana Wall, Department of Biology

Patricia Salerno, Postdoctoral Fellow with mentor W. Chris Funk, Department of Biology

College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences

Nathan Grubaugh, Ph.D. Candidate with advisor Greg Ebel, Department of Microbiology, Immunology, and Pathology

Noelle Noyes, Postdoctoral Fellow with co-mentors Paul Morley and Zaid Abdo, Department of Clinical Sciences

Warner College of Natural Resources

Amber Childress, Ph.D. Student with advisor Dennis Ojima, Department of Ecosystem Science and Sustainability

Adam Dillon, Ph.D. Candidate with advisor Kevin Crooks, Department of Fish, Wildlife and Conservation Biology

Shifra Goldenberg, Ph.D. Candidate with advisor George Wittemyer, Department of Fish, Wildlife and Conservation Biology

Dylan Harrison-Atlas, Ph.D. Candidate with advisor Dave Theobald, Department of Fish, Wildlife and Conservation Biology

Adrian Monroe, Postdoctoral Fellow with mentor Cameron Aldridge, Natural Resource Ecology Laboratory

Zachary Wurtzebach, Ph.D. Student with advisor Courtney Schultz, Department of Forest and Rangeland Stewardship