2015-16 Lilla B. Morgan grants support arts, culture at CSU

Fourteen Colorado State University programs this year received grants from the University’s Lilla B. Morgan Memorial Endowment, Colorado State’s premier fund to support arts and culture at CSU.

Lilla Morgan
Lilla B. Morgan

To make a contribution to the Lilla B. Morgan Endowment to support the arts at CSU, visit https://advancing.colostate.edu/2085

Fall 2015 Awards

• $3,000: Bryan Stevenson Author Program — Dean Patrick J. Burns, CSU Libraries
• $3,000: Faculty Art Purchases for CSU Magnolia House Collection – Various
• $2,000: The Power of Maya Women’s Artistry — Doreen Beard, Avenir Museum
• $1,500: Form and Phenomenon – Associate Professor Del Harrow, Art and Art History
• $1,500: Wild Morphologies — Doug Sink, Lory Student Center Arts Program
• $1,500: Creative Writing Reading Series — Professor Camille Dungy, English
• $1,000: Mystical Abyss of Theatre of Yugen — Mako Beecken, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
• $400: Enslaved, Samantha Aschwanden, School of Social Work
• $350: LA Days 2016 – Andrew Baklaich, Horticulture and Landscape Architecture

Spring 2016 Awards

• $3,848: Visiting Scholar in Residency – Africa Meets Africa: Math and the Museum Initiative – Asst. Professor David Riep, Art and Art History
• $3,000: Creative Writing Reading Series – Professor Camille Dungy, English
• $3,000: Faculty/Staff Art Purchases for CSU Magnolia House Collection — Various
• $1,400: Dance Education Student Project – Lisa Morgan, School of Music, Theatre, and Dance
• $1,000: Kids Do it All – Todos Santos; Scott Farley, University Development

The Lilla B. Morgan Memorial Endowment for the Arts was created by the family and friends of CSU’s late President Emeritus William Morgan and his wife, Lilla, to help foster a vibrant, rich and evolving environment for the arts and cultural expression at Colorado State University. The Lilla B. Morgan Memorial Endowment provides grants to support projects in art, music, humanities, literature and the performing arts, including but not limited to:
• visiting/guest lecturers and artists;
• purchase of art, rare books, or landscaping;
• exhibits and performances;
• scholarships and awards; or
• any use that would showcase the breadth of human cultural endeavor and enhance the cultural awareness of the CSU community.

Past grant recipient Linny Frickman of the University Art Museum said, “As funding in the arts becomes more restricted, assistance from the Lilla B. Morgan Endowment becomes even more critical. Quite simply, the Morgan fund’s long-time dedication to the arts on this campus has been one of the most important catalysts for the vitality of the arts at CSU.”

Gifts to the fund allow it to support a greater number of programs across the CSU campus. Grant funds are awarded during two awards cycles each year, with the application deadlines of April 1 and Sept. 30. All university departments are welcome and encouraged to apply for grant funding. Applications are evaluated on the significance of the project and its impact on the campus community. Projects/programs of a major impact, smaller projects and multi-year projects may all be considered for funding. All proposals will also be reviewed for demonstrated responsibility and thoughtfulness in project planning, budget development and potential for successful implementation. (Projects must take place no fewer than 30 days from the application deadline to be considered for funding.)

Members of the Lilla B. Morgan Endowment Grants Committee include Kristi Bohlender, University Advancement; Jean Jenes, Office of the President; Katie Kalkstein, Office of the President; Cara Neth, Office of the President (chair); Leif Sorensen, English Department; and Lance Wright, Lory Student Center.